Minster Sweeps District Titles, Athletes Move on to Troy Regional

Staff Writer

SPENCERVILLE — The Minster girls and boys track teams ran away with Division IV district titles on Saturday at Spencerville, and the toughest obstacle to the trophies may have been the weather. The event was halted midway through on Saturday after heavy rain moved into Allen County. The meet resumed around 4 p.m. and Minster finished off the district titles. The top four finishers in each event advanced to the Troy regional this week on Wednesday and Friday.

The Minster girls scored 148 points. New Bremen took second with 79 points. Marion Local finished 10th (35). The Minster boys won with 103 points. St. Henry took second (69). Marion Local was fifth (61) and New Bremen was eighth (37).

The Minster girls 3200 relay team of Cassie Francis, Kaitlynn Albers, Emma Watcke and Madeline Magoto won the district title with a 9:57.5 time. New Bremen’s team of Andrea Heitkamp, Rachel Kremer, Alana Speelman and Bailey Bronkema finished fourth (10:20.1).

Minster’s Max Prenger uncorked a put of 48 feet, eight inches in the shot to win the district championship. Teammate Tony Winner is also advancing after taking third with a throw of 46 feet, 6.75 inches.

Minster’s Emma Watcke won the 1600 meter run with a 5:07.4 to set a new Spencerville Division III district record. Kaitlynn Albers of Minster took third (5:19.77) and Bailey Bronkema of New Bremen was fourth (5:26.68). Watcke followed up her win with a second-place finish in the 3200 (11:39.42).

The Minster girls 800 meter relay team of Paige Thobe, Courtney Prenger, Jordyn Heitbrink and Cassie Francis won with a 1:49.25 time. Marion Local’s team of Natalie Rethman, Brooke Homan, Jessie Kramer and Kylie Albers took second and advanced (1:49.62). New Bremen advanced with a fourth-place finish, as the team of Macy Puthoff, Jane Homan, Julia Goettemoeller and Paige Jones finished in 1:50.3.

The Wildcat girls 1600 relay team of Francis, Prenger, Hirschfeld and Magoto won with a 4:08.34 time. New Bremen’s team of Puthoff, Goettemoeller, Kremer and Jones took third (4:13.28).

Marion Local’s John Dircksen led a strong local showing in the discus. he won with a throw of 147 feet, one inch. Max Prenger of Minster was second (142-11) and Minster’s Tony Winner was third (138-6).

New Bremen’s Jake Hemmelgarn won the high jump, clearing six feet. Minster’s Ethan Smith advanced in the high jump with a second-place finish (5-10).

Minster’s Savanah Luthman won the girls shot put with a throw of 36 feet, 10.25 inches. New Bremen’s Maddy Moeller took third (36-1).

Minster’s Paige Thobe won the girls long jump, with a jump of 17 feet, 3.25 inches. New Bremen’s Macy Puthoff took third (16-6.25) and Jessie Kramer was fourth (15-9.5).

The Minster boys 3200 relay team of Carter Pohl, Jon Albers, Luke Barga and Andrew Broering finished second with an 8:33.74 time to advance.

New Bremen’s Celeste Kuck took second in the girls pole vault (10-4) while Grace Butler of Minster advanced with a fourth-place finish (9-0).

The Minster girls 400 meter relay team of Thobe, Leah Brandewie, Jessica Falk and Heitbrink took second (51.79).

Zach Heuker of Minster took second in the 110 hurdles (15.5) and was second in the 300 hurdles (41.11).

Minster’s Madeline Magoto won the 800 meter run (2:20), followed in second by Cassie Francis (2:21.99).

Marion Local’s John Tangeman was second in the 400 meter dash (51.1).

Minster’s Jordyn Heitbrink cleared five feet, three inches, to finish second and advance to the regional in the high jump. The Minster senior is looking to return to state after finishing sixth in Ohio last spring.

New Bremen’s Michael Kelly is advancing the boys long jump after a jump of 18 feet, 10 inches, and a third-place finish.

Minster’s Andrew Broering took third in the 1600 (4:45.03) and Marion Local’s  Matt Tangeman was fourth (4:46.25).

Marion Local’s Luke Brunswick finished third with a vault of 11 feet, eight inches and Minster’s Broc Miller finished fourth in the pole vault to advance after clearing 10 feet, six inches.

Minster’s Savanah Luthman secured the fourth and final regional qualifying spot with a throw of 112 feet, one inch in the discus.

Paige Thobe of Minster finished fourth in the 200 meter dash (27.4).

Minster’s Alex Blanco got the fourth qualifying spot in the boys 100 meter dash (11.73).

The Wildcat’s Luke Barga advanced in the 3200 with a fourth-place finish (10:16).

Fort Loramie Boys Win District Title

The Fort Loramie boys track team won the Division III district championship at Milton-Union High School on Saturday, running away with the title with 114.5 points.

The Fort Loramie boys 3200 meter relay team of Collin Luthman, Jake Rethman, Tom Ballas and Joe Ballas added another accomplishment to a spring season full of them. The quartet won the district title in the event with an 8:05.0 time — 20 seconds better than their closest competition at the Division IV district at Milton-Union High School. They’ll hope to punch their ticket for Columbus next week at the Troy regional. Three of the four members — the Ballas brothers and Holdheide were part of the 3200 relay team that finished ninth in the state a season ago.

Fort Loramie’s Jarrett Meyer won a pair of district titles. Meyer won the long jump earlier in the week, clearing 20 feet, 4.5 inches for the winning length. Meyer was the lone competitor to eclipse the 20 feet mark. Meyer won the 110 hurdles with a 15.98-second time.

The Loramie boys 800 meter relay team of Meyer, Jake Ward, Carson Moore and Carter Mescher won with a 1:33.77 time.

The Fort Loramie girls finished fourth with 80.5 points.

Fort Loramie’s Alyssa Wrasman advanced to the regional with a win in the girls 100 hurdles with a 16.08-second time. She also moved on in the 300 hurdles with a fourth-place finish (49.03).

Kennedi Gephart won the girls 100 meter dash with a 12.93-second time, won the 200 meter dash (26.19) and advanced in t he 400 meter dash with a second-place finish (58.88).

Danielle Berning won the 1600 run with a 5:30.63 pace. Teammate Paige Rethman also advanced with a third-place finish (5:32.33).

Fort Loramie’s Tom Ballas won the 1600 for the boys with a 4:58.95 time.

Joe Ballas took the win in the 800 meter run (1:59.93) and Alan Holdheide moved on with a second-place finish (2:01.35).

Fort Loramie’s Jake Rethman won the 3200 meter run with a 9:55.61 time. Teammate Noah Siegel advanced with a fourth-place finish (10:34.48).

The Fort Loramie girls 800 meter relay team of Wrasman, Chloe Stang, Erin Chaney and Gephart advanced with a third-place finish (1:49.12).

The Redskin boys 1600 relay team of Collin Luthman, Tom Ballas, Joe Ballas and Alan Holdheide took second (3:31.58).

The Fort Loramie boys 400 relay team of Meyer, Ward, Moore and Mescher finished third (45.08).

Alan Holdheide finished fourth in a competitive boys pole vault competition. Holdheide, who reached the state meet a year ago, cleared 13 feet, six inches. The winning vault of 14 feet, eight inches by Ansonia freshman Brock Shellhaas set a new meet record at Milton-Union.

Andrea Rodeheffer advanced in the girls pole vault with a fourth-place finish, clearing nine feet.

Collin Detrick advanced in the boys shot put with a put of 45 feet, two inches to take third place.