Minster Rocket Club Blasting Off to Nationals

Back Row: Jack Kohne, Alex Frimel, Caleb Kies, Johnny Nixon, Cory Schulze, Craig Monnin, Kyle Riethman, Tristan McDaniel  Front Row: Logan Kohne, Owen Barhorst, Lucas Stammen, Eli Rindler, Austin Wellman, Nathan Oldiges, Andrew Kogge
Staff Writer

The Minster Rocket Club has qualified three teams to compete in the national finals of the 16th annual Team America Rocketry Challenge (TARC). The Minster teams beat out 800 other teams from across the United States and will face-off against 97 top rocketry teams in their quest to claim the national finals. The TARC finals will take place on May 12th at Great Meadow in The Plains, VA., outside of Washington D.C.

“I’m so proud of how hard our teams worked to compete this year,” said advisor Ted Oldiges. “These are truly innovative kids who have gained tremendous experience with problem-solving, teamwork and finding creative solutions.”

TARC is the aerospace and defense industry’s flagship program designed to encourage students to pursue study and careers in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). The competition challenges middle and high school students to design, build and fly a rocket that meets specific altitude and flight duration parameters. This year's rules require a rocket carrying two raw eggs to reach 800 feet before returning the eggs to Earth, uncracked, all within 41 to 43 seconds.

This is the 8th year a team from the Minster Rocket Club has qualified for the national finals. The team’s best finish occurred in 2011 when they advanced to the finals fly-off finishing 12th in the county.

The Minster Rocket Club will compete for more than $100,000 in prizes and scholarships, and the opportunity to represent the United States at the International Rocketry Challenge taking place at the Farnborough Air Show in England in July. At the international fly-off, teams from the United Kingdom, France and Japan will face the U.S. champions for the international title.

Members of the Minster Rocket Club include: Cory Schulze, Craig Monnin, Kyle Riethman, Owen Barhorst, Logan Kohne, Alex Frimel, Johnny Nixon, Nathan Oldiges, Austin Wellman, Caleb Kies, Andrew Kogge, Jack Kohne, Tristan McDaniel, Eli Rindler, Lucas Stammen.